Why “Acting Reflection”?

As an art form, acting is teetering on the edge of a cliff. As a community, we have often settled for impressive and entertaining performance skills in theatre, but there is much more to be mined. I am interested in what lies beyond entertainment: How can acting reveal humanity? How can it teach us about ourselves as individuals and as global citizens? There isn’t enough written about acting by those who are slogging their way through the beginnings of this lifelong journey. I want to start a revolution of young artists who seek more, require more from themselves and others, and who are lifelong learners. Let’s begin with discussion, and redefine our standards of what makes great art. Let’s learn from each other. We can begin by asking questions, by reading something new, by commenting on a post, by challenging the ideas of others. I am creating a safe space here to say f*** it, let’s hash out what it means to be an actor/artist in the world of today.

Things I am not: an expert. I don’t have a lifetime of experience in acting. I do learn something new every day, which is what I hope to discuss in my posts and in this forum. I encourage readers of every age, experience, and background to add their research and questions to this conversation. Consider this blog an online community of actor/researchers. Email me for a less public discussion if you prefer, but let’s talk about it. I believe we must hold ourselves accountable for following our impulses. This blog is mine, and I can’t shake it. Let’s talk!

I’ll include a mantra after each post for some inspiration as a summary of the day’s discussion because… why the (bleep) not?

Mantra: If not you, then who? If not now, then when?

2 thoughts on “Why “Acting Reflection”?”

  1. After reading this first post, I really recommend you and whoever else to try their best to see “An Iliad” at Great River Shakespeare Festival. If the phrase “I am interested in what lies beyond entertainment: How can acting reveal humanity? How can it teach us about ourselves as individuals and as global citizens?” strikes you, do your best to see this play sometime in July 2017. It really gets at this exact point.

    Like

Leave a Reply

